I hope there is a hell so Congress can rot in it forever.

November 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Doods. I hate this country. The House of Representatives, instead of doing something helpful, decided to pass a resolution that reaffirms “In God We Trust” as the official motto of the United States.

I’m totally offended by this on several different levels. Sure, I don’t appreciate “In God We Trust” being the motto of a country that purports to abide by its own Establishment Clause. But whatever. That’s not what pisses me off the most is how much of a colossal waste of time it is. Time that could have been spent trying to stimulate the economy and lower the unemployment rate.

Because really, there was no danger in “In God We Trust” as being repealed as the national motto. So why do it? This is just political posturing. The House spent time and money debating and passing a resolution, which has no force of law and, and even if it did, doesn’t change anything about the status quo.

This makes me so angry it’s hard for me to get my thoughts in order. I wish I believed that elected officials generally, and Republicans in particular, were as serious about creating jobs as they are about competing to see who can lick god’s ass the most. But I don’t. And it makes me feel sad and frustrated and powerless. What makes it worse is that my representatives are campaigning on nothing less than changing my life. They talk about economics plans and all manner of horrifying tax reforms. As an unemployed person just barely making ends meet, this is what I want my government to do.  Please, deal with stimulating the economy, not what is printed on the money.

I have news for you, House of Representatives. Jesus doesn’t elect you. Things are bad out there. Unemployment is at 9 percent. The economy is pretty stagnant. And you know what? I don’t blame Obama for it all. I blame you. I blame you for wasting time and money on a pointless resolution designed to appeal to a mass of idiots who think being Christian completely makes up for being a total douchbag. Is it naive to hope that one day they’ll get the message?

Image credit: adamentmeat

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I hope there is a hell so Congress can rot in it forever. at Sniping in the Gutters.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

