I got a job! But I need another.

January 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

That’s right. After 18 months I finally have a job. It’s only a temp job, but it’s something. And, if I don’t screw it up, it’ll last until the end of September. Which complicates going to SkepchickCON a bit, but I’ll take it.

I don’t think I can adequately express what a relief this is. I won’t get paid very much, but I’ll be able to buy my own groceries, pay my own bills, and even save a little for a rainy day. Sure, I can’t afford to get sick or have any days off, but it’s what I have to do for now.

I’m actually quite excited. I start on Monday. It’s going to be great to get out of the apartment and interact with real people. I can’t wait. But, as usual, I focus on the problem.

It’s going to be difficult to look for a permanent job. Because I was placed in this job through a temp agency, I can’t call in sick or ask for time off to go to an interview. I wouldn’t even think about this now, except I saw a job earlier this week in Lawrence that I think I am perfect for. What if they want to interview me? What can I possibly do? My choices aren’t great.  I applied anyway; I’ll cross that bridge when/if I come to it.

I feel pretty scummy about it. I just got a job, and I go an apply for another one almost immediately. It’s in my self-interest to apply for jobs, of course. I need something permanent, something that will help me pay down my student loans. So I’ll keep looking. I’ll keep applying. And hopefully the experience I gain at my new, temporary job will prove useful in the future.

P.S. Even though I have a job now, I will still blog about my experiences as a temp worker. My financial situation will soon be much better than it is now, but it’s still an incredibly insecure position to be in. Until things really pick up, this 99 percent-er will be here, whining and complaining like a dirty hippie.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I got a job! But I need another. at Sniping in the Gutters.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

